Que te vaya bien

Image

“Que te vaya bien.” I’ve been hearing this for months, as I leave coffee shops, church, and tiendas. It’s is an expression to say goodbye here (more or less…), which basically means, “I hope that you go well.” So, I hope all goes well for you Guatemala…I’m gonna miss you. 

I seem to have found myself blogging in airports a lot this year. It’s been a busy, busy year. But a year that I wouldn’t have traded for anything (In case you haven’t noticed, I operate on the “academic year,” which ended this past weekend). A year ago, God bumped me from “Plan A” to “Plan B,” or so I thought anyways. But as I sit here right now, I realize that I’ve been on “Plan A” all along.

This causes me to ponder….do Christ-led lives really every have Plan Bs at all? If God is always working for the good of those who love Him, and knows the plans He has for us, we’re always on Plan A, right?

For me, I think the hardest part is not knowing the plan. So, naturally, I try and guess the plan. It’s really quite simple—you begin by reflecting on your life as if every event is an arrow pointing along an expected trajectory…and then you speculate where the trajectory ends up, based on its direction, velocity, magnitude, blah, blah, blah. It’s quite brilliant, if I may say so myself. It’s always fun to try and stay two steps in front of God….until you realize you’re a complete idiot and that hypothetical arrows mean nothing. 

This year God’s taught me to trust the plan. As I sit in the glass cage of Gate 18, I have peace, although it doesn’t really make a lot of sense. 

I don’t want to leave.  I do want to leave. I am so excited for the next stage of my life in Kansas City. I’m so excited about a hypothetical life here. I miss my friends and family in the states. I miss my friends and “family” here already. My training could help so many people here…..My training could help so many people at home.

I’m pulled in a million directions, but one thing I know (or at least speculate,lol). My story here is not over. A part of me has been planted here, and I can’t wait to see how it grows.

I have been so incredibly blessed to have a wonderful mentor here. God has used her to both sharpen and soften me. I know our work is not done, and I cannot wait to collaborate with her in the future. I am so grateful that she has shared her awesomeness with me J

I have also been blessed by wonderful friends that I have made here. Their commitment, service, and authenticity have made a tremendous impact on me. I found community and camaraderie here that I never expected to have. I remember telling my friends in Chicago goodbye, telling them that I was going to be alone for the next year, and that they needed to get iphones so we could all stay in touch. Gracias a Dios I was wrong J

God has proven to me this year that He is indeed able and willing to do exceedingly and abundantly more that I could have ever dared to ask or hope for. And I am so grateful.

Entonces, hasta pronto, Guatemala. Hasta pronto. 

2 thoughts on “Que te vaya bien

  1. We are proud of you Chelsey and thankful that God has blessed you and protected you while you’ve been out of the country and out of our sight (but not out of our hearts). God is great!

Leave a Reply

